Year of Living Debt Free

a journey to erase my personal debt

2013 Spending Diet!

Leave a comment

2013 is right around the corner, and I’ve made a big decision. Starting on January 1, I’m going to be doing a Spending Diet, as outlined on the blog And Then We Saved. When I read that Anna Newell Jones paid off over $20,000 in debt over a 15 month period, I was inspired. I have a bit less debt than she did when she started, and I make a bit more money than she did when she was paying it off, so my first thought was, “If she can do it, I can too!” I’m too nervous to do the total Spending Fast that she spent a year on, but I think I can made do with a small monthly (or in my case, bi-weekly) allowance.

Over the next three weeks, I’ll be working on my plan for the upcoming year and making sure I’m prepared to do this crazy thing. I’ve signed the debt free pledge on And Then We Saved, and worked out the bank accounts I need and so forth. I’m nervous, but excited!

Leave a Reply

